Winter’s Breakfast

First snowfall seen from my bedroom window (photo: Craig Sabin 2019)
A cheery "Oh!" escapes my lips
     as sleepy eye partakes
Of Winter's first assault on Fall,
     my Autumn frosted flakes.
 
(And just like that my mundane muse
     from slumbering awakes.)
 
Then lost in thought I think upon
     the seasons' that I've seen.
The people that have come and gone,
     and all they've come to mean.
 
I silently reflect upon
     the goodness Summer gave,
Yet somewhere underneath the snow
      lies Summer's sallow grave.
 
My cat meows, I turn my gaze
     she's waiting at the door.
I follow her, she leads the way,
     my mundane muse asleep once more.

Postscript: The seasons, most especially Fall, are a poignant reminder of the brevity of life and the unyielding advance of time. How we must be mindful of the need to redeem the time we’ve been granted and work while we have light and strength. How thankful I am for the certain hope I’ve found in Christ – life eternal, without decay or regret.

© Craig Sabin 2019 All rights reserved

5 thoughts on “Winter’s Breakfast

    1. Thank you for your kind comment! Yes, we are blessed with a nice back yard. We live in a crowded suburb but a creek runs behind our house so it feels more natural and we have more trees and critters. God bless!

      Like

    1. Yes, this time of year reflects my stage of life and puts me in that sort of a mood, I guess. Thanks for reading and for your comment! Enjoyed your greasy cheeseburger story, LOL. God bless!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment